by John Chase, Sergeant
Boulder City Police Department
The opportunity to drive is something teens have always relished. Perhaps even more moving is the opportunity to go cruising with friends. Coupled with the responsibility of a first time driver is the added, often overlooked mandates established by the Nevada Legislature. One such law which recently passed is N.R.S. 483.2523.
Boulder City Magazine®
|Nevada Revised Statutes 483.2523 states the following:
Drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age: Restriction on transporting certain passengers under 18 years of age during initial period of licensure; penalty; nature of violation.
1. A person to whom a driver’s license is issued pursuant to NRS 483.2521 shall not, during the first 6 months after the date on which the driver’s license is issued, transport as a passenger a person who is under 18 years of age, unless the person is a member of his immediate family.
2. A person who violates the provisions of this section:
(a) For a first offense, must be ordered to comply with the provisions of this section for 6 months after the date on which the driver’s license is issued.
(b) For a second or subsequent offense, must be ordered:
(1) To pay a fine in an amount not to exceed $250;
(2) To comply with the provisions of this section for such additional time as determined by the court; or
(3) To both pay such a fine and comply with the provisions of this section for such additional time as determined by the court.
I would be remiss to not advise you that there are several other laws created for new and young drivers. For a complete review of all laws refer to the Driver’s Handbook provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles. This book can be obtained from DMV as well as online at www.dmvnv.com. This booklet is an easy read and well worth the time for parents to peruse. Some laws hold parents accountable for their children’s conduct while driving. And if you knowingly allow your young driver to violate law, such as curfew, you too can be issued a citation. If you have any questions on this law or any others you would like discuss, feel free to contact me.
Until next month, stay safe.
John Chase can be reached via his e-mail address at Jchase@bcnv.org.
688 Wells Rd #A
Boulder City, Nevada 89005
Phone (702) 294-1392 Fax (702) 294-1392
Web Site Design by Appleby Arts
Copyright © 2004 - 2010 - Boulder City Magazine - All Rights Reserved
E-mail Web Master at: firstname.lastname@example.org